top of page

Out of the Chaos...


I had a plan for yesterday...Sawyer didn't have Pre-K, Dan had work, I only had a few hours of work I needed to get done, the boys and I were going to have a fun day together. It was National Dessert Day after all, we were going to bake and play! Spoiler alert...we didn't bake...


It all started, Sunday night...both boys had a restless night and were in bed with us by 4:00am. By 5:00am Bowen pee-ed through his diaper, my spot was soaked... The boys hit the couch, I stripped the bed and tossed the sheets in the wash.


Once breakfast was done we were going to hit the Library and then go to the playground before lunch. Guess what?!? I forgot it was Indigenous Peoples Day so the Library was closed...We hit the playground for an hour or so and headed home for lunch where Bowen promptly passed out on the floor mid dinosaur chicken nugget.


After nap time the day continued...we played, colored, did Sawyer's daycare homework, tossed the sheets in the dryer and made pizza for dinner.


Then, after bath-time, one of my favorite things happened...it was time to make the bed, and out of the chaos of our disorganized, unplanned day, there was an opportunity...


I ballooned the sheets over the boys over and over, and watched them giggle and roll. They wrestled and jumped. Bowen did full tumbles across the bed as Sawyer showed me some of his "super cool moves." A five minute job turned into 30 mins of fun. I love making the bed with the boys because it's one of those times you see the magic of the pure, innocent joy of childhood.


So out of the chaos we had special moments. I hope these are some of the moments they will remember growing up...



49 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page