top of page

A Modern Halloween Mom


I'm gonna start this post by saying momming is freaking HARD! I haven't posted in over a week, my in-laws were visiting, we all had full weeks of work and school, Sawyer had daily meltdowns of wanting to wear one Spider Man shoe and one Batman shoe, Bowen Hulk Smashing through the house, AND we had to prep for Halloween!!!


Let me also say that Halloween with kids is THE BEST. It is exhausting but is is the best. Between coordinating costumes, to 'trick-or-treating', to sorting candy, there are so many layers you don't get as a teen or young adult when the goal is to just look as hot as possible.


This year Sawyer wanted to be Groot from 'Gardians of the Galaxy' so I ordered a Groot costume for him and a Rocket Raccoon costume for Bowen. I got a Star Lord mask for Dan and green body paint and green lipstick for me. Well....the costumes arrived an SURPRISE the Groom costume was 2T-4T while the Rocket costume was 4T-6T. Three weeks of convincing Rocket was cooler than Groot ensued...IT WORKED!


Dan and I had a Halloween Party at my sister's partner's Motocross track 10th Street Motocross so I got to full on Gamora make-up. We had a GREAT date night!




Halloween happened. We dressed the kids for Pre-K and Day Care and it was AMAZING. We went 'Trick-or-Treating' in our neighborhood and my parent/grandparent's neighborhoods and the kids were out cold in a walking and candy coma by 9:00pm. Pure Halloween Bliss!


What do I take away from Halloween?


Like everything in parenthood its a game.

  • Convice the kid what you want them to wear is better then what they want to wear...1 POINT!

  • Get the kid to wear their costume ALL DAY...1 POINT!

  • Keep the Baby Godzilla from trashing and inhaling all the candy, wrappers and all...1 POINT!

  • 'No you may not have 4 pieces of candy before bed,' and survive the toddler meltdown'...1 POINT!

  • Kids bathed and down for the count...5 POINTS for the WIN!

Dan and I passed out at 10pm because Halloween is a MARATHON!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page