top of page

Fig & Goat Cheese Tarte Tatin

A Tarte Tatin is basically an upside down tarte with a puff pastry base and a caramelized fruit, sugar and butter topping. Since this dish is a Savory dish instead of fruit I used Shallots, Figs, Goat Cheese and Walnuts.


This season Netflix is airing ‘The Great British Baking Show’ weekly which is forcing me to practice an unbelievable amount of self control. I love binge watching things but this season my bake watching is controlled. Last week the bakers had to make a Savory Tarte Tatin and with Thanksgiving 6 weeks away it got my baking choux-es flowing. 


Sunday dinners are always held at my Grandma & Grandpa Truglio’s house. Their house is my favorite place in the world and holds the most precious memories for every member of my family including myself. Since I thought we were having Sunday dinner with The Family (we didn’t), I decided to make this as practice for Thanksgiving.


With ‘The Great British Baking Show’ as my inspiration I decided to make a Sweet & Savory Tarte Tatin with Shallots, Figs, Walnuts & Goat Cheese. 


I started with a traditional Rough Puff Pastry. 


Rough Puff Takeaways:

  • Grating frozen butter is a pain so if you have a food processor with the grating attachment I would definitely recommend using it. I don’t have one so I used a traditional cheese grater. 

  • Add some flour to the butter once grated so it doesn’t get all clumpy and put back in the freezer. I grated the butter first thing in the morning to save some time when I actually started making the dough. 

  • Listen to everything you read about rotating the dough 90 degrees in between each fold and rolling the dough with the roller parallel to the folds.This keeps you from so ending up with an incredibly long rectangle. I made this mistake last week when I made Full Puff Pastry. 

This was a mostly kid free bake so I enjoyed a few glasses of Prosecco and watched Mystic Pizza.


Rough Puff Dough:

2 1/2 cups of All Purpose Flour

1Tbs Sugar

2 Tbs Cold Unsalted Butter cut into pieces

1 1/2 tsp Salt

Ice Water added one Tbs at a time. About 2/3 cup of water. 

  1. Combine Flour, Sugar and Salt in a bowl.

  2. Add butter and mix completely until butter is small little peas. There still will be a lot of free flour in the bowl.

  3. Add water 1 Tbs at a time mixing flour mixture as you go until the dough comes together in a crumbly ball.

  4. Kneed for about 30 -45 seconds to work the dough.

  5. Make into a ball and wrap in plastic and chill for a minimum of 30 minutes. 

Laminating the Dough:

  1. Grate 2 sticks of frozen butter

  2. Add some flour so the grated pieces don’t clump together and put in the freezer. 

  3. Remove dough from Refrigerator and roll into a rectangle. About 8 x 16”. 

  4. Add half the butter to the middle/upper area of the dough and fold the top 1/3 of the dough over the butter. Add the rest of the butter on top of the dough you just folded and fold the bottom 1/3 of the dough up to create a letter fold.

  5. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for minimum of 30 mins. This is your first turn. 

  6. Pull the dough out of the fridge and roll the dough keeping the roller parallel to the original folds.

  7. Fold the top 1/3 to the middle and the bottom 1/3 over the top (another letter fold). Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 30 mins.

  8. Repeat steps 5 - 7 two more times. 

Putting it all together:


  1. While the dough is chilling preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

  2. Peel and slice the Shallots and Figs and arrange in a buttered oven safe pan.

  3. Crumble goat cheese over Shallots and Figs and sprinkle walnuts over cheese.

  4. Roll out your dough and cut into a circle to completely cover pan.

  5. Put some slices in the dough to allow steam to escape.

  6. Bake for 45-50 mins until the dough is golden brown. Allow to cool for a few minutes and flip pan onto a dish. Viola.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page