top of page

Decadent Molten Chocolate Lava Cake


Happy Valentine’s Day! Tis’ the day to celebrate all the colors of Love. Our Valentine’s Day tradition has always been a night in with a special home cooked meal, a bottle or two of wine/prosecco. Since having the boys not much has changed. I still make Dan a special dinner, we still share a bottle or two of wine, we just factor in the kids and accommodate with chicken nuggets/fries and 8:00pm bedtime. Hopefully tonight we have a few hours together before we crash. I'm typing this post while Bowie and I snuggle on the couch and Dan and Sawyer play downstairs.


For dinner tonight I made a Short Rib and Butternut Squash Ravioli paired with a Sangiovese Red Wine, per Food & Wine’s recommendation. I decided to make a Chocolate Lava Cake for dessert and have spent the past 2 days researching recipes.


Dan has been OBSESSED with Lava Cakes since we went to Jamaica with friends in 2012. I have kind of avoided making them because I thought they would be really hard and I’m not a huge fan of chocolate. This year I decided to face my fears and surprise him with a Lava Cake. After TONS of research I, tweaked a recipe and went at making the batter while Dan grabbed the kids from Daycare.


The batter can be made up to one day ahead and put in the fridge once back to room temp it can be baked. I made the batter before dinner and just left it out until I was ready to pop it in the over after.


Lava Cake is almost like a baked pudding or a custard. There is barely any flour and is mostly butter, sugar, and eggs. I’m really happy my first attempt was a success and the only thing I would tweak next time is adding more Espresso, up to 1 Tbsp, or maybe a different flavor like Orange Zest or something


Molten Chocolate Lava Cake

Makes 4 Cakes

8oz (1 Stick) of unsalted butter

6 Oz semi sweet chocolate chips (I used Giradeli)

2 eggs

2 egg yolks

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup granulated sugar 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp instant espresso.


  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

  2. In a double boiler combine butter, chocolate, and espresso melt until it is a smooth chocolate ganache.

  3. While the chocolate and butter is melting down wish eggs, egg yolks, sugar, and salt until the mix thickens slightly and becomes a light pale yellow.

  4. Add ganache to the egg mixture while mixer is on and slowly add flour.

  5. Mix until well combined.

  6. Spoon into greased ramekins and bake for 12 minutes.

  7. Remove from the oven and immediately flip onto a tray.

  8. Plate individually and dust with powdered sugar. Garnish with Whipped Cream or Ice Cream and Berries.

Prepare yourself for a delicious, ooey, gooey, chocolatey treat! All of my love on this love filled day!



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page