top of page

Biscotti Two Ways


Yesterday we had plans to go to a friend’s for a Spaghetti Dinner Birthday for the host and her twin brother. I knew I wanted to make cookies to bring and decided to do an Italian Classic, Biscotti....I love keeping with a theme. 


Biscotti has been around since Roman times and is a “twice baked cookie.”  According to The Nibble, Biscotti is derived from the latin words 'bis' (twice) and 'cotto' (cooked), and was a popular food among travelers due to its shelf life. To make the cookie you cook the dough in a log shape and then cut it into oblong like shapes and bake them again. Biscotti dough is very sticky but not wet and baking it twice gives it its signature crunch making it perfect for dipping in coffee or espresso. 


Traditionally, biscotti is made with almonds and almond extract but I wanted to make two different biscotti flavors, so I went with what I had in the pantry and fridge. I landed on Orange Cranberry Biscotti and Chocolate Walnut Biscotti. 

I made this Saturday morning after breakfast while Dan and the kids played in the living room. Bowie joined me every once in a while to show me his silly faces or pretend to be a ghost with a blanket over his head. It was a perfect morning with the ease of a lazy family Saturday in the making. 


Biscotti Pointers:

  1. Prep your flavors ahead of time. I had 2 bowls prepared so I could just toss them into the dough. 

  2. Make one dough, split it in half, and then fold the flavors into each dough

  3. The dough is sticky so I ended up greasing the parchment as well

  4. After the first bake let them cool for 5-10 mins before you cut the biscotti shapes

Biscotti Two Ways

Makes 24 Biscotti 

Cranberry Orange Filling

1/2 cup of chopped dried cranberries

Zest of 2 oranges. 

Chocolate Walnut Filling

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate

1/2 cup chopped walnuts. 


Biscotti Cookie

2 1/2 cups Flour

1 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Salt

1 cup Sugar

4 Eggs

Fillings

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  2. Combine dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, backing powder, and salt) in a bowl and mix

  3. Mix sugar and eggs in a stand mixer until smooth

  4. Add flour mixture to eggs and sugar and mix until dough comes together.

  5. Split the dough in half an fold fillings into each of the doughs.

  6. Shape the dough into a log onto a parchment lined and greased baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until the top and bottom start to get a light golden brown color.

  7. Remove from oven and let cool for 5-10 minutes.

  8. Slice log with a serrated knife at a slight angle to give the oblong shape.

  9. Place cookies back on the baking sheet and bake again for 10-15 minutes flipping them half way through.








The cookies should look dry and a light golden brown. Once cooled you can store them in a container for up to 2 weeks.

I actually liked the flavor of the Cranberry Orange best and usually I'm not a big dried cranberry fan, but since I chopped the cranberries I was able to get the flavor without the chewiness. These cookies were devoured at the party, so make them for your next gathering and enjoy!

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page