top of page

Apple Cinnamon Vegan Donuts!



Happy Sunday Funday!


Dan had to go into work this morning so I decided the boys and I would do a quick easy bake together.


I didn't follow my normal baking rules this morning because I wanted it to be a fun time for me and my Beasties. So... no Mimosa and instead of watching a movie or show we listened to Disney Kids Radio on Pandora. Who doesn't love singing 'In the Jungle'?


Anyway...my youngest sister is Vegan so sometimes I like to try my hand at Vegan Bakes. A few months ago I made Vegan Coconut Lemon Donuts and they were DELISH, so today I decided to make a fall version.


Two things about Vegan Baking

  1. It's not that hard...you will always have to add a fat replacement, an egg replacement, a dairy replacement, and sometimes a rising agent.

  2. A lot of recipes tell you to mix the total contents of wet ingredients with the dry ingredients...I disagree. I think Vegan Bakes can sometimes be too wet and dense so I like to feel it out and add the wet ingredients bit by bit to make sure the batter doesn't get too wet.


Okay, here we go...


Apple Cinnamon Vegan Donuts


Makes about 18 Donuts


Donut Batter:

3 cups All Purpose Flour

1 cup Sugar

1 cup Coconut Oil

1 cup Non-Dairy Milk ( I used Almond)

1/2 cup Apple Sauce

1 Tbsp Baking Powder

1 Tbsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Nutmeg (optional)

1 tsp Salt

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

  2. Combine dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg) and mix well.

  3. Mix Coconut Oil and Non-Dairy (Almond Milk) together in a separate bowl very well to ensure they are fully combined.

  4. Add Apple Sauce to dry ingredients.

  5. Slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients mixing as you go. The batter should be a think cake batter consistency so if you get there before all the wet is added don't add anymore. For this bake I needed to add all the wet ingredients.

  6. Using a plastic bag or piping bag, pour the batter into the donut molds.

  7. Bake for 12-15 mins until when you lightly press on the donut it doesn't leave an indent.

For the Glaze:


I wanted to keep the glaze white, but Sawyer insisted we make some Blue donuts and Orange donuts for Halloween and Monster colors. I rolled with it...


  1. Combine about 1 cup of Powdered Sugar with Non-Dairy Milk or Water 1 Tbsp at a time until it is a thick glaze. I used Almond Milk because I think it adds a little more flavor.

  2. Add 1 tsp of Vanilla for flavor.

  3. Add Gel Food Coloring if you choose

  4. Mix Granulated Sugar and Cinnamon in a bowl.

  5. Dip top of completely cooled donuts into Glaze and then into the Cinnamon Sugar mixture.

I hope you give this Vegan bake a try. Let me know how yours comes out in the comments and enjoy!


76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page